Thai Chicken Curry


I’ve been  craving Thai food all day today. As I was freezing in the office (ACs, sometimes I really hate you!),  it really seemed like a perfect way to end a very busy and stressful work day. I was walking to my car, feeling chilly in refreshing and crispy autumn air, dreaming of a delicious Thai takeout. But as I was driving home, I thought why not try making a Thai curry? Although I’ve perfected another curry variation (see: Coconut Chicken Curry), I’ve never actually made the Thai curry and thought I had to try it. Tonight. Yes, I get obsessed and can’t wait when I’m determined to do something!

I stopped by at Whole Foods next to my house and fortunately they had all the ingredients. And the recipe? Thanks to my dear iPhone I had the perfect recipe at my fingertips in minutes. I changed it a little bit by adding fresh ginger, cayenne pepper and some water – I wanted to have as much warm and spicy sauce as possible! It turned out PERFECT. Can’t wait to have some leftovers for lunch tomorrow!

Ingredients (for 4-6 servings)

1 14-ounce can unsweetened coconut milk,* whisked to blend

2 teaspoons Thai curry paste*

2 large bell peppers (pick different colors), cored and cut into strips

1 medium onion, peeled and thinly sliced

1.5 lbs. skinless boneless chicken breasts, sliced thinly

1 tablespoon brown sugar

1 tablespoon fish sauce

1 teaspoon freshly grated ginger (optional)

3 large tomatoes, peeled and chopped

Handful of fresh basil leaves (read – A LOT)

Juice of 1 small lime

1-2 cups water (depending on how much liquid you prefer)

Salt

Pinch of cayenne pepper to taste

1. Bring 1/4 cup of coconut milk and curry paste to boil in a large sauce pan, add bell pepper and onion slices. Cook for about 3-5 minutes – make sure to not brown but rather saute the vegetables, add some water if needed.

2. Stir in chicken, remaining coconut milk, sugar, ginger, fish sauce and water. Boil and cook on medium until chicken is cooked through,  about 10 minutes.

3. Add basil leaves, salt to taste, cayenne pepper, lime juice and tomato chunks. Simmer for another 5-7 minutes. Enjoy over rice!

4 thoughts on “Thai Chicken Curry

  1. this looks super-delicious (yummy photo!) and would be perfect for our currently cooling-down weather. now I so look forward to trying this!

Leave a comment