Five Reasons to Exercise in the Morning

DSC_0391

Before I get into why it’s great to exercise in the morning, Let me tell you that you won’t meet a person that loves sleep as much as I do. I’m so not a morning person. Haven’t been my entire life! I love sleeping until late a.m. Or, let’s face it – even early p.m.! I’ve never been one of these people that got up at 5 a.m. for a “quick run.” So, what gives? I had a baby. And everything they say about how having a baby changes everything in your life is actually true. If you told me a year ago that I would be working out at 6 a.m. I would laugh. Little did I know is that not only I would actually do it, but I would thoroughly enjoy doing it! And here is why.

1. It feels incredible knowing that it’s only 7 a.m. and you have your workout over with.

It doesn’t matter if you’re a stay-at-home mom of three or a single busy professional. I guarantee that you’re going to feel amazing knowing that your day has just begun and you already have your gym trip over with! Think about all the great things you can do with your free time in the evening. I read somewhere that you should think of exercising just as you do about brushing your teeth. I couldn’t agree more with this portrayal. Would you skip the gym? Sure, I’m tired. Are you too tired to brush your teeth? Eeek, who do you think I am? Exactly. Only when you start treating working out as a necessary, “must do” routine of your day, it’s when you’ll actually stick to it. And getting it over with in the morning makes it a whole lot easier because you simply won’t have time to contemplate all day about it.

2. You will feel empowered to accomplish anything. 

There’s just something about getting up early and starting your day with a killer workout that will make you feel like you can accomplish anything. Client presentation? New business pitch? C-level meeting? Sure, bring it on! I ran 10 miles/PR’ed my deadlift this morning, so I sure can impress anyone! Remember how you snoozed 10 times before getting up way too late and rushed to get to work? Compare that day to a day which you started with an awesome workout and you’ll know what I mean.

3. Your evenings will actually become relaxing.

Whether you’ll be spending your time with your kids, grabbing dinner with friends or just relaxing on the couch catching up on your favorite TV show, your evenings will seem way more relaxing if you don’t have to rush to and from the gym. Trust me, when you don’t have to plan your evening around squeezing in a workout session,  even your busiest evening will seem much less stressful.

4. You will feel less tired and more energized. 

It’s a paradox really, because you will have to get up earlier and technically get less sleep . But it’s true – you will feel less tired. In fact, when I went back to work after my maternity leave, I always felt exhausted until I started going to the gym crack of dawn. Because you get up earlier, you will go to bed earlier and the most rejuvenating sleep actually occurs before midnight. I used to think of myself as a night own, who is simply not capable of falling asleep at 10. Now, when I actually get up at 5-5.30, I have no issues whatsoever with falling asleep at this time.

5. Breakfast will truly become the most delicious and satisfying meals of your day.

I’m not arguing with intermittent fasting folks and I know that it works for some people. I do believe though that breakfast should be the most important meal of the day.  Your body was starving for at least 10 if not more hours. I just think it’s just wrong to not give it some so much needed nutrition. Having just exercised, you will feel so hungry that you’ll actually find time to make yourself a scrumptious breakfast. And it will be ten times more enjoyable because you will feel like you earned it! Now, I also have a quick meal before working out in the a.m., but this will be a topic for another post. Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “Five Reasons to Exercise in the Morning

Leave a Reply

