Watermelon Salad with Mint and Lime

If you are sad like me that the summer is over, you have to make this refreshing salad — nothing reminds me more of a summer hot day like the taste of watermelon. I love watermelon so much, I usually eat it as is, but was intrigued by this recipe from Food & Wine.  I didn’t think it was possible,  BUT lime juice and mint did make the watermelon taste even better.  Although I chickened out and didn’t add any cayenne pepper, I will add it next time for sure! I think it would taste incredible with a hint of spice.Try the salad first before adding salt– I liked it without it but my boyfriend loved it with salt.

* Adapted from the Food & Wine recipe

Ingredients (for 2 servings)

3 cups seedless watermelon chunks (1 inch)–(approximately 1/4 of a large watermelon)
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
2-3 tablespoons finely chopped fresh mint
2 tablespoons of cognac/brandy (or rum as W&F suggests)
Salt
Pinch of cayenne pepper
1. In a large bowl, toss the watermelon chunks with the lime juice, cognac, cayenne pepper and mint. Season with salt and serve! How easy is that?!
Leave a Reply

