Scallops with Garlic, Lime and Paprika

Delicious, quick and light!

Ingredients (for 2 people)

1  lb scallops (about 20 scallops)

3-4 garlic cloves peeled

1 teaspoon Spanish smoked paprika

1/2 teaspoon whole grain Dijon mustard

1 teaspoon extra virgin olive oil

2 tablespoons lime juice

1/2 teaspoon brown sugar

Salt

Pepper

1. Gently wash scallops in cold water and pat them with paper towels.  Prepare the sauce while heating the oven on the broil setting. Finely chop the garlic and put it into a small ramekin/dish.  Add mustard, lime juice, olive oil, brown sugar, paprika (use smoked paprika for distinctive flavor),  salt and pepper to taste and mix well.

2. Arrange scallops on the grilling sheet or baking dish. It’s better to use the grilling sheet as scallops discard lots of water which could make them mushy. If you are using grilling pan/sheet, you will avoid soaking them in water.

3.  Spread the sauce on each scallop and broil for 5-7 minutes. Serve with finely chopped fresh parsley and lime wedges.

6 thoughts on “Scallops with Garlic, Lime and Paprika

  1. oh, wow, they look delicious! wanted to cook scallops for a while but never tried any recipe. this one is very tempting, I should definitely try!

  2. I find them tricky to make! Not overcooking them is key, they are ready in a few minutes, if you overcook them they become very rubbery. I’ve become a huge fan of them just recently, I used to not like scallops at all!

  3. I have been looking for a good recipe for scallops. I am so glad I stumbled upon your website. I like that you have flavorful stuff that is not overly complicated to prepare (I also tried your haddock recipe). I like that this one is broiled with just a tiny amount of oil. I made it for dinner tonight and it came out really good. It’s going to be a regular in my cookbook. Thank you!

    1. I don’t think it matters, I used fresh, but I think you’d be ok with bottled too. Just try how it tastes first; add a bit less of it’s concentrated so it doesn’t make the dish too sour.

Leave a Reply

